Boonex Dolphin PHP script is SCAM!!! - Webmaster Forums - Webmaster forum for HTML, PHP, ASP, CSS and more
Webmaster Forums - Webmaster forum for HTML, PHP, ASP, CSS and more
Go Back   Webmaster Forums - Webmaster forum for HTML, PHP, ASP, CSS and more > Webmaster Tech > Programming > PHP Development

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2010, 11:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Default Boonex Dolphin PHP script is SCAM!!!

Why Boonex is a scam?

Boonex problem nr1. No coding standard

Boonex is writen by several people using different technologies. Its main base (Dolphin) is writen in pure php with its own template engine and forum (Orca) uses xlst. That has large negative impact to integration of forum in site and site in forum. When coding, please use single technology and template system.

Whats even worser, different parts of dolphins code itself is writen by completely different people, and very in the hurry. So everyone has its own imagination how to interact with different parts of the code. It is very tricky to modify code that way to suit site needs.

Boonex problem nr2. Template engine and separation of code/design/database

This problem in dolphin/boonex needs a point on its own. Boonex uses custom template system ( that should be called layout system). The blocks of generated html code are pased to specific places in the template. That creates a big headache for programers as they need to search through code for the place where some box is generated. It might be generated in template, or in specific function in one of numerous includes. And so on. Even pligg has better templating than this.

It is very tricky to rip boonex templating apart, as whole coding is based on such poor programming practice. They would be better off using existing template system like smarty or similar one.

This leads to problem nr3

Boonex problem nr3. Crapy use of Database

We saw serveral other competing sites launched on boonex, but we did not care much. Why? Becouse when they reach 500-1000 daily visitors they will break apart. The reason for it is very bad programming and use of database.

For example, boonex uses profile builder which assigns fields to profiles. So the output of profile uses more than one table and is quite inefficient.

Also, there is a nice 20-30 query overhead on each page display to fetch all the configuration values from table. Silly, isn’t it ? They would be FAR better of using a file for configuring sofware or caching it in php file like it is done in most of the systems.

Another simple problem. When boonex wants to display a profile being online it additionally check database for its status. But that data was pulled from database already. So 20 useless queries again.

Resume

I would not suggest using boonex if you want to keep your programmers sane. We have have changed the code almost completely for now, and you will need to do that too. Boonex is a scam. Try googling "boonex scam" first.
robbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-04-2010, 09:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
miamidesigner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 28
Default Re: Boonex Dolphin PHP script is SCAM!!!

That's right. It is always a priority to Google the name of the company followed by the words complaint, scam, or rip-off in order to learn about the company. This method led to my discovery that Bayt.com is a scam. This website is a money making scheme. They initial services are free and then they force you to pay $250 to create a CV or remain jobless. This is not fair, this is fraud, the are cheating people out of the money they rather use to survive in the countries that $250 really matter.

I have found out the owners name, its Rabea Ataya, this guy is a fraud, scam. He has a very bad reputation in the GCC countries for coming up with money making scams. I did some search on the web and found a lot negative articles on Bayt.com and I am not sure how they can still have an office in Dubai.

There is a way to complain to the UAE authorities its called Al Ameen Services Al Ameen complain here if your have lost $250 for Bayt.com CV creating service.

Check out Bayt.com on Ripoff:
Ripoff Report: Bayt.com Bayt.com Scam / Fraud Dubai, Internet
miamidesigner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2010, 09:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Boonex Dolphin PHP script is SCAM!!!

Bayt.com is widely recognized as one of the most sucessful and socially responsible companies in the Middle East. Bayt.com is now in its tenth year, operates 12 offices with over 200 staff and has helped tens of thousands of employers and hundreds of thousands of jobseekers match opportunity and talent. (Please check ''About Us'' on Jobs in Dubai, UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait | Search Job | Bayt.com for further information.) Bayt.com continues to go from success to success.

Rabea Ataya and Bayt.com have been widely accoladed and awarded by global media, world leaders and community activists. We maintain a very highly public profile that is easily verifiable.

The defamated post is part of a deliberate defamation campaign by an anonymous, at large individual who is currently being pursued for prosecution. Should you have any info that will lead to the identification and apprehension of the individual please forward to info@bayt.com

Should you have any questions please contact us at info@bayt.com
bayt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 04:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Boonex Dolphin PHP script is SCAM!!!

The question at hand has not been addressed. Very clever threatening to prosecute people that voice their opinions in Dubai, thats just traits of this region and you guys play into it very well.

Bayt and its clans are not going to return back my money by posting a lousy come-back to my complaints. I am short of $250 thats almost a 1000 AED. Unlike you, I can give you my name, and its Anand Malhotra and I have paid you for your service 4 months ago. I want Bayt and its owners to be responsible of its illegal scam charge that they procure to get job seekers hired.

I do not care if Rabea Ataya has received his Knighthood. He is a FRAUD and that doesn't change for me only because he charges poor job seekers $250 for a CV that is not justified in content nor is it justified in layout. Only charge if you can honor your claims, you clearly have not, in my case rather or perhaps many more who do not know how to voice their opinions online. I bet you guys rather deal with jobs seekers that fax in their CV's or call you for an appointment.

My order number is 5543325.22 thats all you need to know in order to track my payment made on November 24th, 2009. The position that I have applied for was for an Accountant Analyst.

If you issue me a refund, I will reduce or quit the frequency of my postings as a sign of good faith from other sites. I will also give you another week or so for you to decide what steps you must taken for me to receive this payment.

Looking forward to your legally coated clever bullshit response that is baseless of material facts. Please do peruse me for prosecution but do return my money back as thats all I need for now.

I guarantee you that no Indian would ever register on your website if I do not get my money back.

I have gotten every crafty response from you guys up until now for reasons my money cannot be refunded. I was told that your CV services were availed and that there was no money back guarantee. So what about the job guarantee ? I was under the assumption that I had a job lined up and all I had to do was get my CV created by Bayt.

I have yet to see what response you guys are capable of coming up with this time.

This frustration made possible only by Bayt and only in Dubai where company's like these get away only because money taken from job seekers like me are probably stashed away into the local partners bank account.

Until next time.
shoebacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 01:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 101
Default Re: Boonex Dolphin PHP script is SCAM!!!

yes they are....
masud7827 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



» Sponsors

» Links

» Affiliates
Web Hosting
Online Backup Reviews
Marketing Find
Merchant Select
SiteMap Builder
Host Compare

» Links

» Sports Network
Paintball Forum
Football Forum
Hockey Forum
Golf Forum
Boxing Forum
Lacrosse Forum
Baseball Forum
SnowBoarding Forum
Soccer Forum
MMA Forum


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Webmaster Forums
Web Hosting | Chicago Web Hosting | Web Hosting